Four states – Lagos, Kano, Akwa Ibom and Edo as well as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) accounted for the 30 Coronavirus (COVID-19) cases confirmed Tuesday night by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC).

Lagos, which recorded 25 of the fresh cases, earlier announced the discharge of nine patients from its Infectious Disease Hospital (IDH), Yaba. Two of the cases were recorded in the FCT while Kano, Akwa Ibom and Edo states have one case each. Twenty states and Abuja now have COVID-19 cases.

Ninety-nine of the infected persons have been treated and discharged while 11 deaths have been recorded, the NCDC said.

Announcing the discharge of the eight patients, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu tweeted: "More great news today (yesterday) from our Mainland Infectious Disease Hospital, Yaba.

"Eight more people – two females and six males – have tested negative and fully recovered from #COVID19. They have been discharged to return to their families.

"This brings the number of patients successfully managed and discharged from our facilities to 69.

"Please, let us continue to adhere to all the safety advice from our health experts."


Anambra Update is an independent publication, established in 2012 for the purpose of presenting balanced coverage of events, and of promoting the best interests of Anambra and Ndigbo in extention. It owes allegiance to no political party, ethnic community, religious or other interest group. Its primary commitment is to the integrity and sovereignty of the Federation of Nigeria, and beyond that to the unity and sovereignty of Igbo Social-Cultural Race

Post A Comment: